Update #10 on my Upcoming eBook, The Jump

In case any of you are confused, I’ve been doing these updates semi-regularly on my Tumblr blog. From now on, I will be publishing all updates here after every writing session, with each post chronicling my progress through the book and how far along it is. I will also occasionally provide snippets from the draft itself. Go here for the last update; the rest can be seen under the “The Jump” tag. Check out this blog post for an extended except from chapter three of the novella.

I’ve been kept so busy with work (and one trip to a convention on the other side of the country) that I’ve had little time or energy to really write. I’ve been able to crank out some short stories based on a few excellent writing prompts however, which has been my little way of easing back into the craft after being away from so long. Today I finally dove back into the eBook, but rather than let my time away from it act as a deterrence to my writing, I decided I’d turn a negative into a positive. Being away for so long means that you have to slowly re-adjust to writing fiction and the result can be a bit clumsy sometimes.

I wanted to use my two weeks away from writing to my advantage, so I used this as an opportunity to edit rather than simply write. I went it and started with the prologue (which may or may not make it into the final release) which has been cut down significantly. This means more original content and less from the original short story upon which this novella is based. I also went through the rest of the story thus far – all 20,000+ words of it – and made those very necessary line-by-line edits for any typos and additional spaces. Most of all however, I kept an eye out for awkward wording and sentences that stuck out. I hope to get back into writing proper sometimes tonight or tomorrow, depending on how things work out.

In terms of word count, I actually almost regressed quite a bit (before I started adding new chapters), but I think I’m coming to realise that word count doesn’t always equate to progress. Sometimes the most meaningful changes to a story you can make are the cuts, not the additions. Your readers may not realise it when they read the book, but you’ll do them a service by trimming the fat.

So that’s what I’m struggling to do now: learning to say more with less. Especially less adverbs.

Current total word count: 21,058

Leave a Reply

